Tags

, , , , , ,

This will be the autumn of new adventures. 

I am taking a marriage counseling class, I am considering re-starting my community knitting group, I am forging ahead with my screenplay and I have decided to run a 5k in October.  I have wanted to run a race (for fun) for a long time, but wanted to participate in a cause that is more than just rescuing guinea pigs or having to run in lederhosen (if so inclined, you can do both!).

While reading the local news, I discovered a 5k race in my own backyard, which is far enough down the calendar for me to be prepared.  Manna on Main Street is a community organization that exists “that everyone might be fed.” In their 30th year, they are celebrating the blessing of service to thousands who have crossed their doorway. Manna is an impressive grass-roots organization, and I encourage you to check out their site and blog.  For those of you who live in the Bux-Mont area, Manna is one of the many non-profits supported by Impact

In order to get in gear for the 5k, I am relying on an old friend: the Couch-to-5k Running Plan.  Last night I hit the pavement under a moonlit sky, iPod in one ear, reflector on arm and cell phone in pocket (ICE). For the first night out, I did not focus on specific times other than trying to alternate between walking and jogging.  I surprised myself. I had a nice jaunt of about 2 miles.  Other than a blister (guess I’ll be using other sneaks), I feel pretty good today.

I had forgotten how nice it is to blow off steam this way . . . when I got home, even less than a half-hour later, my mind was more prepared to sort through Celtx and organize my script’s storyline. 

Of course, the moonlight helped too.

